

Washington and Lee Law Review

Volume 16 | Issue 2 Article 4

Fall 9-1-1959

Law School Notes

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarlycommons.law.wlu.edu/wlulr



Part of the Legal Education Commons

Recommended Citation

Law School Notes, 16 Wash. & Lee L. Rev. 212 (1959).

Available at: https://scholarlycommons.law.wlu.edu/wlulr/vol16/iss2/4

This Note is brought to you for free and open access by the Washington and Lee Law Review at Washington and Lee University School of Law Scholarly Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in Washington and Lee Law Review by an authorized editor of Washington and Lee University School of Law Scholarly Commons. For more information, please contact christensena@wlu.edu.

LAW SCHOOL NOTES

Tucker Lectures. Whitney North Seymour of New York, President-Elect of the American Bar Association, delivered the annual John Randolph Tucker Lectures at the Law School on May 1 and 2. The subject of his lecture, which is being published in this issue, was "Horizons for Young Lawyers Today."

Deans' Portraits. The portrait of Dean Clayton E. Williams was presented to the University by the Phi Alpha Delta legal fraternity, during the Tucker Lectures. The artist is Marion M. Junkin, head of the Washington and Lee Department of Fine Arts. The portrait of Dr. Joseph R. Long, who joined the law faculty in 1902 and who served as Dean from 1917 to 1923, was presented to the University by Joseph R. Long, Jr., and John Long at a ceremony in Tucker Hall on June 12, during the Alumni Reunion. The artist is Dorothy Quest.

Law School Association. The annual meeting of the Washington and Lee Law School Association was held May 2. Officers elected for the coming year are: E. Waller Dudley, President; H. Graham Morison, Vice-President; and James W. H. Stewart, Secretary-Treasurer.

Law Review. The following board of editors has been named for Volume XVII, Number 1: Frank C. Bozeman, Editor; William H. Abeloff, Samuel L. Bare, III, and Manley P. Caldwell, Jr., Associate Editors. Mr. Bozeman represented Washington and Lee at the annual Southern Law Review Conference.

Order of the Coif. Four 1959 graduates and one alumnus of the School of Law were elected to membership in the Order of the Coif. The Honorable John W. Eggleston (LL.B. 1910), Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Appeals of Virginia, was elected to honorary membership. Leonard C. Greenebaum, Joseph C. Knakal, Jr., Owen A. Neff, and S. James Thompson, Jr., were the newly elected graduates.

Burks Competition. George H. Fralin, Jr., was announced as winner of the Seventh Annual Martin P. Burks Moot Court Competition.

Student Bar Association. The officers elected for the Fall semester are: Frank W. Ling, President; E. Bayles Mack, Vice President; Joseph L. Lyle, Jr., Secretary; and Jerome A. Susskind, Treasurer.

Phi Beta Kappa. Two law students, Owen A. Neff and S. James Thompson, Jr., were elected to membership during the Spring Semester.